Did You Plug the Leak, Daddy?

There was so much bizarre stuff coming out of Obama’s press conference that it was amazing.

First of all, Obama tells us what he does for a living:

My job right now is just to make sure that everybody in the Gulf understands this is what I wake up to in the morning and this is what I go to bed at night thinking about: the spill.

So, his job is not to actually get anything done, it is to make sure people think that he is working hard on the spill. There’s only one problem. In the last few months, Obama has said the very same thing about a range of issues.

Earlier this year the White House press secretary said President Obama: “Wakes up in the morning and he goes to bed at night thinking about how to make people’s lives better — how to create that environment for creating jobs…”

About national security, marking 9/11 last year, the president said: “My greatest responsibility is the security of the American people. It’s the first thing I think about when I wake up in the morning. It’s the last thing I think about when I go to sleep at night.”

The president used a similar line about protecting Americans multiple times last year.

Then, there is the curious phrasing of his daughter. Why in the world world she think that Obama was the man who was plugging the leak? Wouldn’t any mormal kid say “Did they get the leak plugged yet, Daddy”? Somehow, somewhere, she has been told that her dad is the master of the universe.

Comments are closed.