Hitchens Seems to Have Throat Cancer.

He doesn’t come out and say it, but what else can you infer? Odd that he didn’t say it. He posted this on Vanity Fair:

I have been advised by my physician that I must undergo a course of chemotherapy on my esophagus. This advice seems persuasive to me. I regret having had to cancel so many engagements at such short notice.

I once knew a man who was a heavy drinker. He developed the same thing. Hitchens is known for his constant drinking, and smoking, too, I believe.

Government says:

Risks due to alcohol vary considerably by type of cancer. The strongest associations are with oral, pharyngeal, esophageal, and laryngeal cancer. Cigarette smoking, which is also a major determinant of each of these cancers, tends to combine synergistically with alcohol in enhancing risk.

Let’s hope this ends well. He is a little snot at times, but he’s fun to have around. And yes, go ahead and pray for him, intensely. (It will bug the crap out of him).

UPDATE:  According to Hot Air, this is not one of those cancers that has a high  cure rate. In fact, it is one of the very worst.

Comments are closed.