Anne Rice is a Little Confused.

Anne Rice is apparently in need of some attention, because what she is saying makes no sense at all:

For those who care, and I understand if you don’t: Today I quit being a Christian. I’m out. I remain committed to Christ as always but not to being “Christian” or to being part of Christianity. It’s simply impossible for me to “belong” to this quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group. For ten …years, I’ve tried. I’ve failed. I’m an outsider. My conscience will allow nothing else.

And:

As I said below, I quit being a Christian. I’m out. In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life. In the name of …Christ, I quit Christianity and being Christian. Amen.

She is one confused lady. You can see where all her problems lie. She’s a Democrat, and being a Christian was interfering with her most cherished liberal beliefs.

You get the impression she wanted to bash people who believe differently than her, rather than be a Christian. Why must she hate those who are different than her? Can’t she learn to live together with her fellow man?

For example, she could join any Episcopal, Presbyterian USA, United Methodist, or UCC church and she would have all of her most cherished ideas CONFIRMED.

She has drunk deeply from the cup of propaganda, and she is happy that way.

Rod Dreher:

I’m sorry, but this is weak, and makes me wonder what really happened. Surely a woman of her age and experience cannot possibly believe that the entirety of Christianity, current and past, can be reduced to the cultural politics of the United States of America in the 21st century. Does she really know no liberal Christians? Has she never picked up a copy of Commonweal? Does she really think that if she asked a Christian on the streets of Nairobi or Tegucigalpa what they, as Christians, thought of Nancy Pelosi, they would have the slightest idea what she was talking about? And Christianity, anti-science? Good grief. Has she not noticed that Catholic Church, to which she did belong until yesterday, has affirmed evolution, and embraces science? How can a woman of her putative sophistication really think that Christianity is nothing more than a section of the Republican Party at prayer?

To be clear, I (of all people!) do not wish to judge harshly people who have lost their faith. But to lose it over something as groundless and as trivial as the reasons she’s given? Please. And if she’s determined not to join a quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious group, she’d better stay away from religion, from politics, from, well, humanity. Because that’s how we are.

I wish I were able to be more charitable towards her in this. Rice wrote something beautiful here, about why she embraced Christianity. If she really has lost her faith, then that’s a tragedy. But to have lost something so deep and precious because American fundamentalists got on her last nerve? I don’t get it.

Once again, the desire to paint all religious people as fundamentalists is the crutch on w hich the weak lean. The desire to call others racist, homophobic, cruel, inhuman, and mysogynist etc. whenever you don’t get your way is the first response of…Democrats, it seems.

I wonder why that is.

Comments are closed.